Skip Navigation
Woodbrooke

1046 Bristol Road
Birmingham B29 6LJ
United Kingdom

T +44 (0)121 472 5171
F +44 (0)121 472 5173
enquiries@woodbrooke.org.uk
conferences@woodbrooke.org.uk

Reg. Charity No. 313816

Terms & Conditions

Charity web design by Fat Beehive

Considerate Hoteliers MIA

Courses & Learning

Woodbrooke at Swarthmoor Hall  Swarthmoor Hall
Swarthmoor Hall

Woodbrooke courses and retreats, offered at Swarthmoor Hall: contemporary Quaker insights and practice, in a historic Quaker setting. 

Learn and reflect with the guidance of Woodbrooke’s experienced tutors and retreat leaders.  Enjoy the accommodation and surroundings of the Hall, with its historic rooms, tranquil garden and proximity to bay and fells.  A winning combination!  

Called the ‘hidden gem of Furness’, Swarthmoor Hall has a timeless air of peace and tranquillity. Situated in Ulverston, Cumbria, it was the home of Margaret Fell, who later married George Fox. It became the ‘powerhouse’ and cradle of the early Quaker movement. It is usually possible to have a guided tour during the course of your stay. 

Swarthmoor is easily reached by train or coach to Ulverston, or by car via Junction 36 of the M6 and the A590.  Approximate journey times by train: Manchester 1 3/4 hours, Birmingham 2 ½ hours, Edinburgh or Glasgow 3 hours, London or York 3 ½ hours.  

Accommodation is comfortable and homely.  Some rooms are en-suite; the rest are standard rooms with nearby bathrooms.  Meals are vegetarian, with special diets provided as requested on your booking form.  For more information on the Hall itself, go to www.swarthmoorhall.co.uk

To book: follow the links below to book online, complete a booking form and return it to Woodbrooke or call the admin team on 0121 472 5171. Please also call this number for additional enquiries about course content, particular needs or course administration. 

2017 course dates 

George Fox - his life and message
Friday 17 February 2017 - Sunday 19 February 2017

Being a Quaker Clerk
Friday 15 September 2017 - Sunday 17 September 2017

Spiritual Gifts
Friday 24 March 2017 - Sunday 26 March 2017

Christian Animism: the Christian faith as an earth-based, creation-focused spirituality
Friday 22 September 2017 - Sunday 24 September 2017

Towards Contentment
Friday 14 April 2017 - Sunday 16 April 2017

Welcoming the Soul: creating space for deep listening in our meetings
Friday 29 September 2017 - Sunday 1 October 2017

Writing Retreat
Sunday 23 April 2017 - Friday 28 April 2017

Being and Silence : a contemplative retreat
Thursday 12 October 2017 - Sunday 15 October 2017

 'God is love': the letters of John
Friday 5 May 2017 - Sunday 7 May 2017

Friends From the Start : exploring the early Quaker story
Friday 10 November 2017 - Sunday 12 November 2017

Quaker Nominations: Exploring Good Practice
Friday 2 June 2017 - Sunday 4 June 2017